Summer Update

Well, I sitting here at my dining room table, listening to my kind of music (solitary experiments – delight), gathering my to-do list. I feel like I didn’t do anything yesterday. Oh wait, I didn’t do anything. I was generally annoyed by my family. Yes, they still manage to do that even with 1300 miles between us. Well, then I took a nap and I felt better.

I need to clean my house today: dishes (load the dishwasher and hand wash the pots/pans), vacuum and sweep up all the dead bugs under my fireplace. Damn bugs.  I have to go shopping for some fruits and vegetables also. Dayum, food that’s healthy for you is expensive.

I’ve been feeling my age (don’t even ask) lately. Let me tell you, getting older sucks. Plain and simple. Not cool man. I think my Ming has been feeling the same way also.  He still feels okay enough to want to snuggle and we still have some good days together.  I’ve been dreading the end. He’s been with me for about 16 years now.  He’s older than all the grandkids. It finally dawned on me the other day that our time is limited. He takes 3 types of pills per day and it’s a struggle to get him to take his medication. I cried a little bit.

Work is good. I finished all my LibQual Survey summaries. I presented the data to the Library Administration last week. My Associate Dean told me that I did an outstanding job.  Now I need to present this information to the entire library. I’m also starting regular sessions where I can lead discussions about using statistics and the type of tools they should use.  Or what you should ask/look for when you’re presented with any type of data, especially using library data. I’m excited about that.  I love my job! Oh speaking of jobs, U of A finally posted advertisements for some librarian jobs.  I probably would have applied for one of them if I were still at U of A. Right now, I’m signing a new contract for the next year.  I think I’m staying here for the next 12 months at least. I have it good for the moment. I hate the winter weather so I know the Midwest is not a permanent move for me.

I cancelled my annual ALA trip (to New Orleans).  I’m heading back to Tucson for the July 4th week-end instead. I miss my family and I’m looking forward to a long visit with my fam. I wish a family member would move out here with me but I know this move was my decision sooooo…

Gotta get a move on now.

About bibiiwens

Navajo, self-assured, bibliophile, skeptical, analytical and klutzy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

