Weather and snow

For the first part of my life, I experienced snow in the winter and so, a White Christmas wasn’t that big of a deal.  When I worked for the Navajo Tribe- for my local community, snow = work.  Lots of work.  Since I was the administrator for the local community, I was responsible to make sure the roads and sidewalks were clear after a snowstorm.  So if the snowstorm was on a week-end, then I had to work.  Many times, I had to shovel the snow from the sidewalks in front of the Administration Building (Chapter House).   So I usually equate snow with hard work.  Hard work is good for everyone from time to time.

So, you can see how much I appreciated the 60+ degree weather during the days leading up to Christmas Day.  I enjoyed the warmth tremendously.  Picture me driving through Tucson, with the car windows down, warm wind blowing through my hair, radio blasting “Let it snow, Let it snow, Let it snow…”  I only get to watch a snowstorm on TV now, which is more than fine with me.  Most Christmases, we cook outside, in our shorts and t-shirts.  It dips below 50 degrees and fb posts are littered with “it’s freezing!”  Just for kicks, I checked the temperature in Shonto, about a week ago.  It was 0 degrees in Shonto at 7am and so 50 degrees is a heat wave compared to that!

I’m on a nostalgia trip.  My sister, sister-in-law and I were talking about our best Holiday memories.  What was your best Christmas gift ever?

About bibiiwens

Navajo, self-assured, bibliophile, skeptical, analytical and klutzy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

